207 282-1748

Board of Directors

The EDC Board of Directors is comprised of 15 business and municipal leaders from York County, including 2 City of Biddeford appointees, 2 City of Saco appointees, 2 Sanford Regional Economic Growth Council appointees, 1 Biddeford-Saco Chamber of Commerce appointee, 1 Kennebunk Development Corporation appointee, 1 Southern Maine Planning & Development Commission representative and 6 internally elected directors (2 Biddeford residents or business owners, 2 Saco residents or business owners and 2 York County residents or business owners). Each of these directors brings a unique experience and perspective on economic development initiatives in the area, described as follows:

Maryanna Arsenault, Retired Non-Profit Executive, Wells Maine.  Mrs. Arsenault is a “York County Elected Director” and she currently serves as EDC’s Secretary.  She has a graduate degree in public administration from Clark University and a baccalaureate degree in social work from Temple University.  In addition to her activities with EDC, Mrs. Arsenault has served on the boards of the York County Community College Foundation and Home Care Alliance of Maine.  She is also an active member of the Visiting Nurse Associations of America Legislative Committee.

Chuck Bates, Manager, Staff Development, General Dynamics, Inc., Saco, Maine. Mr. Bates serves on the Board as a “Saco Elected Director.” Mr. Bates has been in the field of employee education and development for 30 years, developing, coordinating and delivering educational programs. He has worked within the Community College System as a Dean of Business and Industry, and as an Educational and Organizational Development Consultant.  He has served on the State Board of Education’s Professional Development Committee, Maine Science and Technology Foundation and the Maine Composite Alliance. He has served on the board of governors for the Maine Space Grant Consortium and Governor Baldacci’s educational development committee for development of entrepreneurship programs in the State of Maine. In addition, Mr. Bates has served on the Executive Board of Biddeford-Saco Chamber of Commerce, University of New England College of Art and Science Advisory Board, Board of Directors for York County Community College Foundation Board, Central Maine Community College advisory board, Maine Manufacturing Association Education Committee, Board of Directors for PeoplesChoice Credit Union and the Association Board of Trustee for the Dyer Library/Saco Museum.

Lorraine Boston, Retired bank officer, Wells Maine.  Mrs. Boston is a “York County Elected Director” and she currently serves as EDC’s Treasuer.  She is a graduate of America’s Community Banker Senior Leadership and New England School of Banking at Williams College.  She is an Alum of the Leadership Maine program with extensive experience in financial institutions and lending.  Currently Mrs. Boston serves as Chair of the York Hospital Board of Directors as well as a committee member of the Greater Portland Council of Governments and Financial Advisor for the York County Community Foundation.

Alan Casavant, Mayor, City of Biddeford, Maine.  Mayor Alan Casavant serves on the Board as a representative of the City of Biddeford.  Mayor Casavant is a former Biddeford City Council and Council President.  He taught Psychology and American Studies, Global Studies, and U.S. History at Biddeford High School until his retirement in 2011.  Mayor Casavant served four terms serving Maine House District 137 covering Biddeford and Kennebunkport, and is termed out.

Dan D’Entremont, Co-owner of Dirigo Partners, LLC, a Maine-based management consulting firm and professor of Accounting and Finance at USM.  Mr. D’Entremont is a “Biddeford Elected Director” and currently serves as EDC’s Past-President.  He recently retired as V.P. of Finance from L.L. Bean, Inc. after 24 years and now lives in Biddeford with his wife. In addition to his activities with EDC, he also serves on the Board of Trustees of the University of New England and served on the Board of Directors for the Maine Development Foundation from 1999 to 2004 (Treasurer in 2003, Board Chair in 2004).

Mathew Eddy, Director of Economic Development, City of Biddeford, Maine. Mr. Eddy is a representative of the City of Biddeford.

Eric Green, Vice President, PeoplesChoice Credit Union, Saco, Maine.  Mr. Green is a representative of the Biddeford-Saco Chamber of Commerce and he currently serves as EDC’s Vice President.  He is a graduate of the CUNA Management School and has extensive experience in organizational operations.  In addition to his activities with EDC he also serves on the Biddeford-Saco Chamber Board of Directors.

Dick Hodgdon, Retired Manager, Maine Department of Labor, Saco, Maine.  Mr. Hodgdon is a “Saco Elected Director” and he currently serves as EDC’s President.  He is a graduate of the University of Maine in Augusta with a BS in Business Management and Vietnam era Veteran from the US Army.  He has 25 years of professional experience directing the Labor Exchange System in Southern Maine.  In addition to his activities with EDC, he has served on the Biddeford-Saco Chamber of Commerce & Industry and the Saco Main Street Board of Directors.

Keith Jacques, Esq., Partner, Woodman, Edmands, Danylik, Austin, Smith & Jacques, P.A., Biddeford, Maine.  Mr. Jacques is a “Biddeford Elected Director”.

Alan Minthorn, Councilor, Ward 5, City of Saco, Maine.  Councilor Minthorn is a representative of the City of Saco.

Jim Nimon, Executive Director of the Sanford Regional Economic Growth Council, Sanford, Maine. Mr. Nimon is a representative of the Sanford by virtue of his position at SREGC.  He is a graduate of the University of Maine and has worked extensively in state government in the Maine Department of Economic & Community Development as well as, Senior Economic Advisor in the Office of the Governor.

Gary Samia, Board Member of the Sanford Regional Economic Growth Council, Sanford, Maine. Mr. Samia is a representative of the Sanford by virtue of his position at SREGC.

Paul Schumacher, Executive Director of Southern Maine Planning & Development Commission, Saco, Maine.  Mr. Schumacher is a representative of the Southern Maine Planning & Development Commission by virtue of his position. He is a graduate of the University of New Hampshire with a Master’s degree from Tufts University. Paul has almost 30 years of experience in planning and urban development in the public and private sectors in Maine and Massachusetts.

V A C A N T, Kennebunk, Maine.

V A C A N T, Development Director, City of Saco, Maine.

Loan Committee

The Loan Committee is composed of 10 individuals, including 8 appointed by the Board of Directors and two officers of the corporation. The Committee, made up of citizens from York County with backgrounds in law, accounting, banking, finance and business, approves all loan requests.  All loans are administered through a computerized loan servicing software package offering a multitude of options and report generating capabilities.

The EDC worked with us through every phase of this project to collaborate with bankers and get us the funding we needed to keep our development on schedule.

– Doug Sanford – Northdam Mill

The EDC has really helped our business stay on track.

– John Grondin – Prescott Metal